Does anyone know how complex the code is for minting part of NFT?

I am not a programmer but would love to get some info (maybe form a dev) on how complex the code is for minting, I have a guy who says they will take this on board for my project but i am thinking I might want to do it myself, is there a guide for this or is it to early ?

This is assuming you are talking about babylon release. Typically in other chains, there are standards and metadata structures you have to adhere to in order to integrate with marketplaces. While creating the NFT is simple enough in scrypto, the standards have not been agreed yet as this stands on possibly the first few that release an NFT marketplace or that the team has created a standard natively. So it may possibly too early to tell but you can do all the development now taking into account that implementation might change

2 Likes

I really hope there is a set standard prior to Babylon so marketplaces aren’t able to lock their customers into one place. This is an area where I think you see forced centralization in a space where most people are supposed to be pro decentralization. Marketplaces will mint NFTs with specs specific to their marketplace, so if you want to sell somewhere else, you can’t.

The process of minting itself is pretty straightforward on almost every chain. If you look at the Near protocol dev docs, you can mint your own NFT fairly easily. It will show up in your wallet, and you can send it to whoever you want, but it won’t show up in any of the more prominent marketplaces because you didn’t mint it through their platform. That sucks.