Pros and cons of adding liquidity to LSU pools

So it looks like LSU pools are the new hot thing, but what are its advantages and drawbacks?
I can think of some but I’d like to hear your thoughts. I’m not an expert on this topic so feel free to correct me if I’m wrong

Pros:

• Higher APY compared to staking due to LSU swapping fees
  • Increases TVL and thus Radix visibility
  • Can easily swap the LSULP token for LSU of a different validator than the original one

Cons:

• When removing liquidity you might get another validator’s LSU if there are not enough LSU of your original validator (plus additional fees)
  • No airdrops
  • Bugs/exploits risk

An user also raised an interesting question: is there a risk of centralization if lots of us give up our LSU to a pool owned by others? Staking was implemented to help decentralization, does this change with LSU pools?
Can the pool owner act maliciously by, for example, unstaking all the LSUs from a performant node and adding XRD to a node that’s offline?

1 Like

Increases TVL and thus Radix visibility

Might want to be careful with that one. Solana reached a very high TVL during the bull run, but it was entirely artificial. The same single developer created a number of different DeFi services in which you could stake token A to receive token B in service 1 and then stake token B to receive token C and service 2 and then stake token C to receive token d in service 3, etc. It had the effect of making all the services look much more impressive than they were. When the gettin was good, people were happy to lock their tokens in each one to get a little bit more APY. But when the price crashed and everybody pulled out, the services collapsed and the TVL cratered. People look like fools for not even noticing the one single guy had started all these fake companies.